New Albany | Plain Township Historical Society

The NAPTHS was founded in 1975 to bring together people interested in local history and to help members of the community achieve an understanding of this history through the collection and preservation of artifacts, documents, and oral accounts. The NAPTHS is committed to preserving and documenting our local history for future generations, at time when Plain Township is rapidly evolving from rural farming community to upscale suburb.

Membership meetings are open to the public and are generally held on the first Thursday of each month at 7pm. The Executive Board holds business meetings on the second Thursday of each month at 6pm. All members are welcome to attend board meetings.

Executive Board

Co-Presidents: Dennis Keesee and Betty Maynard
Vice President: Richard Whitelock
Secretary: Chandler Kisiel
Treasurer: Helen Pestel
Trustees: Robert Dean, Marilyn Regrut, Catherine Saveson
Alternate Trustee: Marilyn Saveson

Ealy House Curator: Nancy Ferguson
Newsletter Editors/Program Coordinators: Marilyn Saveson and Betty Maynard
Website Coordinator: Catherine Saveson
Ealy House Tour Coordinator: Marilyn Regrut
Membership Coordinator: Betty Maynard

We welcome and appreciate volunteer help. Volunteer activities may include acting as docent for tours, maintaining the Ealy house museum and its grounds, and helping with exhibits, presentations, parade floats and Founders Day activities.